Foundation Routine!

Hello!

Today I’m going to show you my everyday foundation routine! Now, sometimes I just pop on some powder, but this is when I want to lookextra put together! Let’s get started!

CORRESPONDING VIDEO: Foundation Routine!

Screen shot 2013-06-05 at 1.17.59 PM

I’m going to take my Clinique Acne Solutions foundation in shade 01 and put a dime size amount on my hand. To apply this, I’ll be using my Real Techniques Expert Face Brush, a.k.a., THE BEST BRUSH EVER. I love this foundation and brush combination because the foundation alone gives me a flawless, airbrushed  effect, but combines with the brush it makes blending a breeze.

ImageImage

Next, I take my finger and dot the foundation on to a CLEAN, MOISTURIZED FACE.

Image

I know it looks a little crazy right now, But it makes blending SO much easier! I will apply some to my forehead later on.

Now, I’m just going to begin to blend this out with my Real Techniques brush, as mentioned earlier.Image

As you can see, I’m pulling the brush in a downward motion. You ALWAYS want your finishing strokes to go in a downward motion because the hair follicles on your face tend to grow in a downward motion and this gives a more natural effect.

Foundation: $27.00, Clinique. Brush:$8.99, Ulta Beauty

Image

Again, just on the opposite side of my face, I’m just blending out my foundation and ending with downward strokes.

Now for my forehead, I just repeat the same process, but in between the brows, you want to finish with upward strokes as opposed to the rest of the forehead.

Image

REMEMBER: always blend down the jawline and neck to avoid any harsh lines!

Image

Next is Concealer! I personally use two types of concealer, but this is totally optional. For blemishes, I use my Holy Grail concealer, my MAC Prolongwear concealer in “NW20”. This covers my blemishes and DOES NOT BUDGE throughout the day no matter what I end up doing.

Image

I just take my finer and dot this on any areas that need extra coverage and blend it out with my foundation brush, patting in a downward motion as opposed to dragging the product downward.Image

Image

I also use my fingers to blend if needed. $18.00, MAC Cosmetics. *It looks a bit pricey, but this concealer lasts FOR. EVER.*

Now for Undereye Concealer! I love my Maybelline Dream Lumi Touche Highlighting Concealer in “Radiant”.

Image

I just place this under my eyes and blend with my foundation brush and fingers if needed! I do not have bad undereye circles, so this just highlights the area. If you have bad dark circles, try using the MAC concealer with a fluffy eyeshadow brush under your eyes.

Image

Image

POWDER TIME! I have extremely oily skin, therefore, I set my foundation with a powder all over my face. For dry skin, try putting the powder throughout your T-Zone only, unless you like to powder it all. *Your T-Zone is your forehead, your nose, and chin.*

For powder, I use Clinique Perfectly Real Pressed Powder in shade 102. To apply it, I use my MAC 182 Kabuki brush.

ImageImage

Just get some powder and PAT, not rub, again in a downward motion in those areas where you get oily, or just feel you need powder.

Image

Powder:$25.00, Clinique.

Now for Bronzer, Contour, Blush, and Highlighter! For those in a hurry, contour and highlighting can be optional. Blush and bronzer, just a tad, I feel are a MUST.

Bronzer is first. I use my Clinique True Bronze in shade 02, “Sunkissed”. Remember, Bronzer is just to add a “Glow” to your face, not to give you a complete tan.

Image

To apply this, I use my Real Techniques Blush Brush.

Image

I apply this bronzer in a “3 E” motion, starting at your temples and edge of forehead, down under the cheekbones, and down the jawline.

ImageImageImage

Also apply just a tad across your nose, chin, and forehead.

Bronzer: $25.00 Clinique

Now for Contour. Contouring, when applied correctly, gives the appearance of a more sculpted face and more facial structure. The idea is to apply a shade that is darker than your skin tone to the hollows of your cheeks. For this, I use my Benefit Hoola Bronzer (This is not for traditional bronzing as in the previous step) and my MAC 168 Angled face brush.

ImageImage

You can do the “Fishy Face” haha, if needed to find the hollow of your cheeks, or simply, under your cheekbones.

Image

Image

Just lightly buff, *cough cough* DOWNWARD MOTION *cough cough*, underneath your cheekbones. $28.00

Now for BLUSH! Blush adds life and color to your face! I’m going to use my sigma blush brush and my Stila Custom Color Blush in Pink, MY FAVORITE BLUSH!

Image

Image

This blush may look scary, but it works with the natural temperature of your skin to create a flattering pink color. Just take some on your brush and pop in on to the apples of your cheeks blending it back towards your temples. $20, Sephora

Image

Now for Highlighting! Highlighting goes hand-in-hand with contouring in the fact that it makes your cheekbones appear higher and gives the look of more facial structure. For this I use my NARS Albatross Highlighter and my Sigma Tapered Highlighting brush.

Image

Although it looks white, It is actually a golden shimmery cream color. $29, Sephora

Image

Apply a highlight shade on top of the cheekbones and around the tail of your eyebrow and on the browbone if you’d like.

Image

And you’re done! Thank you so much for reading!

xoxo,

Pres

alovelyambition

5 thoughts on “Foundation Routine!

    • Thank you!!! I have a natural eyes tutorial right before my foundation routine post along with a video, you can scroll down to see it, or at the bottom of this page at the left there is an arrow to take you to that page! And i’ll be posting a Daytime Smokey Eye tutorial tomorrow! (:

  1. I enjoyed learning the best way to apply powder with brush, more in downward strokes; and going over the 3 E method , thanku

Leave a Reply

