Daytime Smokey Eye Makeup!

Hello!

Image

Today I wanted to share my go-to daytime smokey eye makeup. This look is SUPER simple, quick, and flattering! All, besides one, of the colors come from the LORAC PRO palette! I love doing this on days when I want to look put together, but not have a heavy, night-time smokey eye going on. I applied some Katy Perry false lashes for an extra pop, but that step is completely optional. For an in-depth video tutorial, see the link below.

Daytime Smokey Eye Tutorial

Image

Let’s get started!

I already primed my eyes with MAC’s Painterly Paint Pot. Any skin-toned primer will do.

Now I’m going to apply MAC’s Constructivist paint pot, a dark, warm brown, shimmery cream shadow. I’m going to apply this to the outer two-thirds of my lid.

ImageImage

Next, I’m going to take a fluffy blending brush and “Taupe” from the LORAC PRO palette, which is the lightest warm brown color. Image

I’m going to buff this through the crease and create a rounded shape by using small circular motions and taking my time. This will create a light, blown out, wash of color.

Image

A smokey eye is traditionally darkest at the lashline and fades upward. To get that effect, I’m going to take “Sable”, the slightly darker warm brown from the palette, and buff this through my crease, concentrating on applying the color closer to the actual crease and not blending up as far.

ImageImage

Next, I’m going to take MAC’s PROlongwear eyeshadow in “Fashion Fix”, a dark ash brown shade, on my Urban Decay “Good Karma” brush, and apply that to my lid. $21.00, MAC Cosmetics

ImageImage

Now I’m taking a bit more of “Sable”, the second brown I used on a MAC 217 brush and blending my lid and crease colors together with small winshield-wiper motions.

 

Image

 

Next, I added “Nude”, the light shimmer shade to my browbone and inner corner. I then toned my browbone down a bit with “Cream” a matte skin toned color.

Screen Shot 2013-06-06 at 9.34.54 PMScreen Shot 2013-06-06 at 10.11.12 PM Screen Shot 2013-06-06 at 10.11.23 PM

 

Now for Liner! As usual, I’m going to use my L’Oreal “The Super Slim” Liquid Liner in “Black” and make a small cat eye/wing on my eyeliner. $8.99 Ulta Beauty

Image

Next, to make the liner look more “Smokey”, I’m going to take “Black” from the LORAC palette on the Urban Decay brush I used earlier and smudge out my liner slightly.

Image

Image

I didn’t smudge the wing of my liner, because I want that to stay crisp and clean.

Next, I added my false lashes.

Now I’m taking “Espresso” from the palette on the same Urban Decay brush and I’m smudging that on my lower lash line for a “smoked out” effect.

Image

Image

Now, for a final touch, I’m going to line my water line, or inner rim, with MAC’s eye kohl in “Smolder” (black), and add mascara to my bottom lashes.

ImageImage

LORAC PRO palette $42.00, Sephora

And VOILA! Your perfect, daytime-appropriate smokey eye!I love this look and get so much wear out of it, and I hope you will as well. Check out the video I linked at the beginning of this post and feel free to leave requests as comments! Have a wonderful day!

Image

xoxo,

Pres

alovelyambition

4 thoughts on “Daytime Smokey Eye Makeup!

  1. Pingback: Creating smokey eyes tutorial | all-about-life-tips.com

Leave a Reply

